Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Because my mare was foundered last summer, my horses have to be on a dry lot and only fed hay. Which is sad considering that we have lots of grass they could be eating for FREE.

Because my mare was foundered last summer, my horses have to be on a dry lot and only fed hay. Which is sad considering that we have lots of grass they could be eating for FREE.

By Albert Lane,

I just got back from visiting with a new Amish friend over a major hay deal.

I was looking at his fields, one was hay, and the other soybeans.

He mentioned that a local fertilizer company was on it’s way out to spray the beans.

I asked him what they were spraying for; they looked pretty good to me.

He said that they were going to spray the field with Roundup.

I asked him if they were just spot spraying, or what, because they looked good, and I really didn’t see any weeds anywhere.

He said ‘No’, they were spraying the whole field with Roundup.

I asked him how they could do that and not kill all of the beans.

He said that they were ‘special’ soybeans that weren’t affected by Roundup.

So I asked him where the seeds came from, and he told me the name of the seed company.

I then asked him what kind of seeds they were, and if they came from Monsanto.

He said ‘Yep’, that they came from Monsanto, and they were the only seeds that he was allowed to buy anymore…but it was wonderful that they weren’t affected by Roundup, so he was happy.

I asked him if he knew that these type of soybeans were GMO, and that they weren’t safe to put into the food chain.

He said ‘Yep’, he knew it, and looked a little sheepish, and added that he didn’t use any of them for his family.

I wonder how he knows that none of those went into any of the products that he buys at the grocery store?

I wonder how much of that stuff went into feed for our local Amish beef producer where we buy our beef…trying to make sure that we buy only ‘organic beef?

I wonder why the EPA just upped the legal limits for the amount of Roundup residue allowed on our food?

I wonder………………….

*This article is my opinion only.

Indiana farmer vs Montsanto. SCOTUS sides with Montsanto.

Why I want food labels to include GMO information.

