According to my mother, ‘Hoosier Pie’ should have two layers. The top should be a light custard. The second layer needs to be rich and even a little syrupy.

Virtually unheard of outside of Indiana, Hoosier/Sugar Cream Pie officially became Indiana’s State Pie on January 23, 2009. Although the pie is associated with the Amish, the recipe has been traced back to 1816, the year Indiana became a state and long before the Amish came to this area.

My grandparents owned the Wawasee Restaurant, Syracuse, Indiana during the ’40s (which is before I was born) and my grandmother’s “old-fashioned cream” pie was the signature dessert. She also served it at family gatherings; as did my mother. When I was a new bride, this was the first recipe I copied into the blank pages of my brand-new cookbook.

It was and always will be my favorite pie. Enjoy!  And have a safe and happy 4th!

REAL HOOSIER CREAM SUGAR PIE

¼ Cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 generous tablespoon butter

1 egg yolk

2 heaping tablespoons flour

1 pinch salt”

Milk or Cream (1-1 ½ cups…enough to fill pie shell)Preheat oven to 410 degrees. Mix brown and white sugar with flour. Cut butter into flour and sugar mixture with a fork or mix it with your fingers (this pie has also been called finger pie) to crust-like consistency. Sprinkle flour/sugar mixture over pie crust. Beat egg yolk with milk. Fill pie shell. Take a spoon and swirl it through the milk mixture a couple of times. Sprinkle with cinnamon or nutmeg.

Bake at 410 degrees for 10 minutes.Then bake at 350 for 45 minutes. The filling should be bubbling. The center should still jiggle. Be careful not to overcook or the filling will not set.


